Monday of Holy Week with Pope Francis

By: Office of Communications

This Holy Week, let’s pray through the words Pope Francis spoke on Palm Sunday of last year, meditating on their application to our lives and practices.

Am I like Pilate? When I see that the situation is difficult, do I wash my hands and dodge my responsibility, allowing people to be condemned – or condemning them myself?

Am I like that crowd which was not sure whether they were at a religious meeting, a trial or a circus, and then chose Barabbas? For them it was all the same: it was more entertaining to humiliate Jesus.

Am I like the soldiers who strike the Lord, spit on him, insult him, who find entertainment in humiliating him?

Where is my heart? Which of these persons am I like? May this question remain with us throughout the entire week.

shutterstock_135856217

Leave a Reply

