Editor’s Choice: Is the Single Life a Vocation?

This week we highlight our editor’s top picks from Encourage and Teach.

By: Therese Bermpohl, Director of the Office for Family Life

train smiles

The single life:  Is it, or is it not, a vocation?  This question goes to the heart of the struggle confronting Catholic singles striving to do the will of God.  The inner monologue can often sound something like this: “Do I or do I not have a vocation?  Am I not working hard enough to discern God’s will?  Am I not praying hard enough?  Is it my own fault that I don’t have a vocation?  Was the guy I chose to ignore on the metro at 7 a.m., whose cheery morning demeanor made me certain of our incompatibility, my one chance at marital bliss…?”  Does God give us one opportunity to say “yes” to His plan for us and if we miss that one opportunity, He proclaims like the Soup Nazi, “No vocation for you!”

While we know it is possible to ignore a call, it is quite possible that the single life is right where God wants you for today.

This post first appeared on Encourage and Teach on December 30, 2010. View the full text here.

Follow @Bishop_Loverde on Twitter

Follow the Catholic Diocese of Arlington on our platforms:

DiocesanLogoMiniFacebookMiniLogoTwitter Mini LogoYoutube Mini LogoInstagram Mini Logo

Leave a Reply

