Bishop Loverde’s Story: My Encounter with Christ

This week, as we prepare for the Feast of the Transfiguration of the Lord, we remember, as Pope Francis says, that “Each man and woman has a personal encounter with the Lord. A true and actual encounter that can radically change one’s life. The secret lies not only in being aware of it, but also in never forgetting it, so as to preserve its freshness and beauty.”

By: Bishop Paul S. Loverde

For many years, I knew well that the Lord Jesus loves me. I knew it. I believed it. I accepted it. But it always seemed that somehow there was a wall or a clear glass separating me from the Lord in terms of that love. I could envision Him loving me. I could see it all clearly. But it hadn’t come to a depth I was so hoping I could understand and experience.

To read Bishop Loverde’s pastoral letter Go Forth with Hearts on Fire in full, click here.

Follow @Bishop_Loverde on Twitter

Follow the Catholic Diocese of Arlington on our platforms:

DiocesanLogoMiniFacebookMiniLogoTwitter Mini LogoYoutube Mini LogoInstagram Mini Logo

Leave a Reply

