An Attitude of Gratitude: Why Catholic Charities Clients and Supporters are Thankful

This week as we anticipate and celebrate Thanksgiving, we reflect upon the many blessings bestowed upon us with hearts full of gratitude and joy. 

By: Catholic Charities in the Diocese of Arlington

Are you cultivating an attitude of gratitude? In the spirit of the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday, we asked Catholic Charities clients and supporters, “What are you thankful for this year?” Here are their answers.

The children at St. Margaret of Cortona Transitional Housing:

IMG_1635_cutout

Kayla wrote, “I’m grateful for St. Margaret’s and the staff” with her picture, seen above, of the place she calls home.

A single mom living at St. Margaret of Cortona Transitional Housing:

“I’m thankful for St. Margaret’s for putting a roof over our heads and for the stability we have here. I am about to finish my job training program and start an internship. My daughter received an award at school for her grades this year, and I am beyond proud—we’ve been through a lot, and she’s everything you could ask for in a daughter.”

A student at Hogar:

Hogar-Jaime-B.-e1447172168237

“I’m thankful because I feel more comfortable communicating with people I work with and speaking to others in stores or other places. I’ve learned a lot of new words so now I can have more conversations. The classes are helping me get closer to my goal of starting my own business.”

This post first appeared on the Catholic Charities in the Diocese of Arlington blog on November 12, 2015. View the full text here.

Follow @Bishop_Loverde on Twitter

Follow the Catholic Diocese of Arlington on our platforms:

DiocesanLogoMiniFacebookMiniLogoTwitter Mini LogoYoutube Mini LogoInstagram Mini Logo

Leave a Reply

