You Make All Things New …Year!

This last week of Advent we focus on believing. “Blessed are you who believed that what was spoken to you by the Lord would be fulfilled” (Lk 1:45).

By: Natalie J. Plumb

I heard “Ordinary People” this morning by John Legend. The title and message have always intrigued me: What does it mean to be ordinary?

Sometimes I like to swat away the idea of anyone being ordinary. After all, C.S. Lewis writes in The Weight of Glory:

It is a serious thing to live in a society of possible gods and goddesses, to remember that the dullest and most uninteresting person you talk to may one day be a creature which, if you saw it now, you would be strongly tempted to worship, or else a horror and a corruption such as you now meet, if at all, only in a nightmare.

—C.S. Lewis, The Weight of Glory

But without God’s grace, I most certainly remain ordinary. I am lost.

God loves to take the ordinary and make it extraordinary. Just take a look at the ordinary Mary and Joseph raising the extraordinary Child. Or the ordinary slave Moses leading God’s people to freedom. Or the ordinary younger brother Jacob eventually forgiving his brothers who tried to kill him and saving nations.

The only reason these situations are transformed is Christ. Christ takes my ordinary, my efforts and expands them into something I am not capable of on my own. He takes my inches and turns them into yards.

Gods Love

This transformation requires my trust. And trust requires belief that He will grant the deepest desires of my heart and more than that. It requires patience.

If I don’t believe, I risk missing the opportunities He wants to give me.

I pray for everyone this Christmas and New Year, that Christ uses our ordinary lives and mistakes and trials, and transfigures all to His extraordinary will. Amen.

The object of a New Year is not that we should have a new year. It is that we should have a new soul and a new nose; new feet, a new backbone, new ears, and new eyes. Unless a particular man made New Year resolutions, he would make no resolutions. Unless a man starts afresh about things, he will certainly do nothing effective. Unless a man starts on the strange assumption that he has never existed before, it is quite certain that he will never exist afterward. Unless a man be born again, he shall by no means enter into the Kingdom of Heaven.

—G.K. Chesterton

Advent - Believing

Find @nataliejplumb on Twitter

Follow @Bishop_Loverde on Twitter

Follow the Catholic Diocese of Arlington on our platforms:

DiocesanLogoMiniFacebookMiniLogoTwitter Mini LogoYoutube Mini LogoInstagram Mini Logo

Leave a Reply

