Statement on the Death of Sister Denise Mosier

By: Bishop Paul S. Loverde

It is with unimaginable sadness that I received the telephone call yesterday notifying me of a tragic car accident involving three Benedictine Sisters on their way to a retreat at Saint Benedict Monastery in Bristow, VA.  Sister Denise Mosier, O.S.B., died in the accident; Sister Charlotte Lange, O.S.B., and Sister Connie Ruth Lupton, O.S.B., suffered severe injuries and were taken to the hospital.

I immediately went to the hospital to be with the Benedictine Sisters of Virginia who had gathered there, including their prioress, Sister Cecilia Dwyer. I was able to visit with Sister Charlotte (Sister Connie Ruth was in surgery) and I pray fervently for their healing.

Our faith gives us the knowledge that the Lord is with us in all things, even in this profound sorrow. I pray that Sister Denise, a good and faithful servant of the Lord whom I knew from Saint Benedict’s Monastery and her work with our Diocesan Sisters’ Council, has gone to her eternal reward.

This devastating event is a reminder that we are pilgrims on this earthly journey.  In remembering the many ways they have supported the faithful of the Diocese of Arlington, I pledge to the sisters that our entire diocesan family is likewise lifting them to the Lord in prayerful support.

I also must address the reality that this tragedy,  which comes allegedly as a result of a young man’s drunk driving, was avoidable. The Sisters now live with the consequences of this behavior, as do countless other families.  While we pray for the driver, let us also recommit ourselves to eliminating this absolutely unacceptable behavior: yes, via programs in our schools, but also by the example that we set in our homes and communities.

Blog Note: For more information about this tragedy, please read the news story in the Arlington Catholic Herald.

11 thoughts on “Statement on the Death of Sister Denise Mosier

  1. I am deeply sadened by the death of Sister Denise. I last saw her at my Aunt’s Funeral (The Late Sr. Irene Alexander).

    I pray for all three sisters and forgiveness for Mr Montano.

    God Bless you all.

  2. Sister Mossier was killed, and her fellow passengers critically (and needlessly) harmed by a young man who entered and resided in this country illegally. This intruder to the United States was known to local authorities for other criminal infractions.

    Could God be using this horrible circumstance as a message to us regarding the sad, chaotic, and perhaps, apolcalyptic times we live in?

    This was my first reaction when I read this sad article.

  3. Thank you, Bishop Loverde, for your prayer and presence with the Sisters. Even from the distance of Duluth, Minnesota, the sisters here at St. Scholastica monastery are grieving for Sister Denise and her community. Several of us knew Sister Denise and know what a special person she was.

    Thank you, too, for speaking out about the problem of drunk driving. While the young man had many problems with the law, it was his drinking and driving that produced this tragedy. The Sisters are praying for him as well.

  4. Sister Denise Mosier is a cousin of mine. She taught me when I was in grade school. As everyone that knew her knows, she was a wonderful person, and above all, she loved God and the work she did for him.
    We all know that she would forgive this young man for his shortcomings. We should try to forgive him too, and pray that he gets the help he needs so this doesn’t happen again.

  5. The news also reached the Sisters of Saint Benedict’s Monastery in Minnesota, who have been praying for the Sisters and the young man and all the families involved. S. Cecelia is bearing such a wonderful witness in her interviews to the love and forgiveness of the Sisters and the concern for the Sisters still in the hospital. We are in retreat here this week as well, which makes it feel all the closer. Thank you, Bishop Loverde, for your sensitive words.

  6. I am truly astonished by the sudden and unexpected death of Sr. Denise. I knew Sr. Denise through the Benedictine Monastery in ST. MARYS, PA. I remember learning many things from her travels and had the honor to work at the convent in the kitchen for 10 + years before I went off to college. What a blessing from God that he allowed her to touch so many people’s lives. Perhaps, this incident will change laws for not only immigration, but for DUI. Her work never went unnoticed and this was her last.

    God BLess Sister Denise and all the Benedictine,

    Nicholas Krug

  7. I had the great honour of knowing Sr Denis since i was 16. My best friend is her sister, Mary Ann. Sr Denise was one of those people one cannot explain or discribe. She was an annointed person who gave light even by standing in her presence. Fun, Holy, vibrant, strong, encourageing, Christ filled, loving, loving loving. This was her ALL the time. She always was positive. Just knowing her gave me strength. I was in awe of her. I would rather stand beside her that any celebrity. My spirit was humbled and full if I was in the same room with her. She helped develop my soul. My heart is broken.

  8. Sister Denise Mosier, OSB, was my mothers’ cousin, and my honored second cousin, as well as one of the most compassionate, loving and inspirational women of our time.

    It was through her example that we learned patience and forgiveness. She was a great listener and an even better adviser.
    She led her life by example and she left a message for us at her untimely and horrific death.

    Write or call your local and state representatives, regarding the new immigration laws set by states, and stiffer penalties for DUI convictions, including deportation and jail without bond.

    In order that the good may prevail, and her word continues on. All my love to her remaining family, friends and sisters.

Leave a comment